Gabriela Carrizo (I/AR) and Franck Chartier (F) founded Peeping Tom in 2000. Together they created a first location project that took place in a trailer home, Caravana (1999), with would-be long-time collaborator Eurudike De Beul, followed by the film Une vie inutile (2000).

Peeping Tom’s hallmark is a hyperrealistic aesthetic anchored to a concrete set: a garden, a living room and a basement in the first trilogy ( Le Jardin , 2002; Le Salon , 2004; and Le Sous Sol , 2007), two trailer homes in a snow-covered landscape in 32 rue Vandenbranden (2009), or a burned theatre in A Louer (2011). In these, the directors create an unstable universe that defies the logic of time and space. Isolation leads to an unconscious world of nightmares, fears and desires, which the creators deftly use to shed light on the dark side of a character or a community. The huis clos of family situations remains for Peeping Tom a major source of creativity. The company has started working on a second trilogy – Vader (Father), Moeder (Mother), Kind (Child) – around this theme.

Vader (Father) was directed by Franck Chartier and premiered on 10 May 2014 in Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen, DE). The second part of the trilogy, Moeder (Mother) was directed by Gabriela Carrizo. The world premiere took place at Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen, DE) on September 29, 2016. The trilogy will be closed in the spring 2019 with Kind (Child).

Since 2013, the artistic direction of Peeping Tom created also productions with other groups: The missing door (2013) and The lost room (2015) with Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT I). Franck Chartier directed 33 rue Vandenbranden (2013) for the Opera of Göteborg. In 2015, Gabriela Carrizo directed The Land, a collaboration between members of Peeping Tom and the actors of the Residenztheater in Munich. In 2017, Peeping Tom and Nederlands Dans Theater collaborate again on The hidden floor, a new short piece by Franck Chartier with the dancers of NDT I.

In 2005, Le Salon was awarded the Prix du Meilleur Spectacle de Danse (Best Dance Show Prize) in France. In 2007, the company received the Mont Blanc Young Directors Award during the Salzburg Festival and the Patrons Circle Award at the Melbourne International Arts Festival. The pieces Le Sous Sol , A Louer and Vader (Father) all got selected for the Theaterfestival, which gathers the most remarkable shows of the past season in Belgium and The Netherlands. In 2013, A Louer was nominated for the prestigious Ubu Awards in Italy, in the category Best Performance in Foreign Language, during the theatrical season 2012-2013. This piece also got nominated for a 'Premio de la Critica Barcelona' in the category 'Best International Dance Production of 2015' after a series at Grec Festival de Barcelona. In 2013, 32 rue Vandenbranden was elected Best Dance Show of the Year in São Paulo (BR) by magazine Guia Folha and won in 2015 a prestigious Olivier Award in London, in the category 'Best New Dance Production'. Apart from being in the official selection of the Theaterfestival 2015, Vader was also elected Best Dance Performance of 2014 by Dutch newspaper NRC Handelsblad and won a 'Premio de la Crítica Barcelona' in the category 'Best International Dance Production of 2014'. In 2016, Franck Chartier's The lost room was awarded a ‘Swan most impressive dance production in the Netherlands’.

Flanders Arts Institute launched an online guide to contemporary dance in Flanders and Brussels, in which you can find an analysis of the work of Peeping Tom by Lieve Dierckx.

Freelance collaborators

André & Christophe De Tremerie (transport)
Diane Fourdrignier (artistic assistant)
HyoJung Jang (costumes)
Nico Leunen (dramaturgy)
Raphaëlle Latini (sound composition)
Joëlle Reyns (technician)
Hjorvar Rognvaldsson (technician)
Wout Rous (technician)
Krispijn Schuyesmans (technician)
Herman Sorgeloos (photography)
Juan Carlos Tolosa (sound composition)
Amber Vandenhoeck (technician)
Johan Vandenborn (technician)

Board of Directors

Rafael Heylen (chairman)

Emiliano Battista
Thijs De Ceuster
Lieve Dierckx
Peggy Donnelly
Lies Martens
Christel Simons
Herman Sorgeloos

Staff

Quentin Legrand (company manager)
+32 2 290 22 07

Anastasia Tchernokondratenko (production manager)
+32 2 290 22 08

Lulu Tikovsky (tour manager)
+32 2 290 22 08

Sébastien Parizel (communication and press)
+32 2 290 22 08

Filip Timmerman (technical director)

With the support of the Flemish authorities

Peeping Tom fût fondée en 2000 par Gabriela Carrizo (I/AR) et Franck Chartier (F). Ils créent leur première pièce commune, Caravana (1999), dont l'action se déroulait dans un mobilhome, en collaboration avec celle qui deviendra par la suite une collaboratrice à long-terme, Eurudike De Beul. La pièce fût ensuite suivie par le film Une vie inutile (2000).

La principale marque de fabrique de Peeping Tom est une esthétique hyperréaliste, soutenue par une scénographie concrète : un jardin, un salon et une cave dans la première trilogie ( Le Jardin, 2002 ; Le Salon, 2004 ; et Le Sous Sol, 2007), deux caravanes résidentielles au milieu d'un paysage enneigé dans 32 rue Vandenbranden (2009), ou un théâtre brûlé dans A Louer (2011). Les chorégraphes y créent un univers instable qui défie la logique du temps et de l’espace. L’isolement y mène vers un monde onirique de cauchemars, de peurs et de désirs dans lequel les créateurs mettent habilement en lumière la part sombre de l’individu ou d’une communauté. Le huis clos de situations familiales reste pour Peeping Tom une source importante de créativité. La compagnie a commencé a travailler sur une deuxième trilogie – Vader (Père), Moeder (Mère), Kind (Enfant) – autour de ce même thème.

Vader (Père) est dirigée par Franck Chartier et la première mondiale a eu lieu le 10 mai 2014 au Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen, DE). En 2016, Gabriela Carrizo a créé Moeder (Mère). La première mondiale a eu lieu au Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen, DE) le 29 septembre 2016. La trilogie sera clôturée au printemps 2019, avec Kind (Enfant).

Depuis 2013, la direction artistique de Peeping Tom a aussi créé des pièces avec d'autres groupes: The missing door (2013) et The lost room (2015) avec les danseurs de Nederlands Dans Theater (NDT I). Franck Chartier a dirigé 33 rue Vandenbranden (2013) avec les danseurs de l'Opera de Göteborg. En 2015, Gabriela Carrizo a créé The Land, une collaboration entre Peeping Tom et des acteurs du Residenztheater à Munich. En 2017, Peeping Tom et Nederlands Dans Theater collaborent à nouveau pour créer une nouvelle pièce courte, sous la direction de Franck Chartier.

En 2005, Le Salon a reçu le Prix du Meilleur Spectacle de Danse en France. En 2007, la compagnie a remporté le Mont Blanc Young Directors Award durant le Festival de Salzburg et le Patrons Circle Award dans le cadre du International Arts Festival de Melbourne. Les pièces Le Sous Sol, A Louer et Vader ont toutes trois été sélectionnées pour le Theaterfestival qui reprend les meilleurs spectacles de la saison en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. En 2013, A Louer a été nominé pour le prestigieux Prix Ubu en Italie, dans la catégorie Meilleur Spectacle en Langue Etrangère, durant la saison théâtrale 2012-2013. Ce spectacle fut également nominé pour l’édition 2015 des Premis de la Critica (Barcelone) en tant que 'Meilleur spectacle international de danse' suite à la série dans le cadre du Grec Festival de Barcelona. 32 rue Vandenbranden a été élu Meilleur Spectacle de Danse de l’année 2013 à São Paulo (BR) par le magazine Guia Folha. En 2015, 32 rue Vandenbranden a remporté un prestigieux Olivier Award à Londres, en tant que 'Meilleur spectacle de danse'. Vader a été élue 'Meilleur Spectacle de Danse de l'année 2014' par le quotidien néerlandais NRC Handelsblad. Le jury des Premios de la Critica Barcelona a désigné la pièce comme 'Meilleur spectacle international de danse de l'année 2014' en Catalogne et à Barcelone. Le spectacle fût également sélectionné pour l’édition 2015 du Theaterfestival à Bruxelles. En 2016, Franck Chartier a reçu un prix 'Zwaan (cygne) meilleur spectacle de danse aux Pay-Bas'.

Flanders Arts Institute propose un guide en ligne pour la danse contemporaine en Flandre et à Bruxelles, dans lequel vous retrouverez une analyse de l'oeuvre de Peeping Tom (en anglais) par Lieve Dierckx .

Collaborateurs free-lance

André & Christophe De Tremerie (transport)
Diane Fourdrignier (assistante artistique)
HyoJung Yang (costumes)
Nico Leunen (dramaturgie)
Raphaëlle Latini (composition sonore)
Joëlle Reyns (technicienne)
Hjorvar Rognvaldsson (technicien)
Wout Rous (technique)
Krispijn Schuyesmans (technique)
Herman Sorgeloos (photographe)
Juan Carlos Tolosa (composition sonore)
Amber Vandenhoeck (technicienne)
Johan Vandenborn (technique)

Conseil d'administration

Rafael Heylen (président)

Emiliano Battista
Thijs De Ceuster
Lieve Dierckx
Peggy Donnelly
Lies Martens
Christel Simons
Herman Sorgeloos

Staff

Quentin Legrand (administrateur)
+32 2 290 22 07

Anastasia Tchernokondratenko (chargée de production)
+32 2 290 22 08

Lulu Tikovsky (chargée de tournée)
+32 2 290 22 08

Sébastien Parizel (communication et presse)
+32 2 290 22 08

Filip Timmerman (directeur technique)

Avec le soutien des Autorités flamandes