The lost room

2015 - Franck Chartier & Nederlands Dans Theater

In 2015, Franck Chartier created The lost room with the ensemble of NDTI. It followed The missing door (Gabriela Carrizo, 2013) and premiered on 1 October 2015 in The Hague (NL). In 2017, Chartier will direct The hidden floor, a new creation with NDTI. The three short pieces will then tour The Netherlands together in a programme titled Side B: Adrift.

The lost room continues with some of the themes already addressed in The missing door. This time, we find ourselves on a ship at sea, where freedom and entrapment go hand in hand. In a labyrinth of rooms and corridors, several stories are told simultaneously. Characters seemingly exist in every time and every place. At the same time, they are timeless, infinite and boundless. In that respect, The lost room could be seen as a melancholic nostalgia for the future. Memories are often not a literal reproduction of the past, but instead rely on constructive processes that are sometimes prone to error and distortion. We think we remember correctly, but then it turns out we’ve given shape to a story as we see it in present or even future time. Thus, present and future events are capable of influencing the past, our memories and ability to remember.

The lost room toured The Netherlands in 2015 with The missing door and Stop-Motion (Paul Lightfoot and Sol Leon) in the frame of Start-Again. The Belgian premiere took place on November 28 at deSingel, Antwerp. A new soirée composée titled Side B: Adrift will travel throughout The Netherlands in 2017 (premiere October, 5th), which shows the complete trilogy of The missing door, The lost room and the new creation.

During the Festival of Dutch Dance in Maastricht, The lost room was awarded a ‘Swan most impressive dance production in 2016’.

The jury stated: “With The lost room, Franck Chartier creates a magical realism, surreal and absurd oppressive work that opens a new world for the NDT and its audience. Chartier uses plenty of special effects, pours suspense and (macabre) humour into one barrel and turns you over with a sublime and overthrowing fragile duet.

Concept & direction Franck Chartier
Assistant to the director Yi-Chun Liu, Louis-Clément da Costa, Ander Zabala (NDT)
In co-creation with the dancers Lydia Bustinduy, Fernando Hernando Magadan / Spencer Dickhaus, Bob Verbrugge / Jef Stevens, Roger Van der Poel, Ema Yuasa / Rena Narumi, Cesar Faria Fernandes, Chloe Albaret, Myrthe van Opstal, Meng-Ke Wu, Marne van Opstal, Anna Herrmann, Anne Jung
Music New composition by Raphaëlle Latini, Ismaël Colombani, Piano recording John Elliot Gardner
Light design Tom Visser
Set design Justine Bougerol
Costumes Yi-Chun Liu
World premiere October 1 2015, Zuiderstrandtheater (The Hague, NL)
Production Nederlands Dans Theater

REVIEWS

"The famous ingredients of the two founders of the successful Belgian collective Peeping Tom are again present: dance, acrobatics, illusionism, cinematic suspense. And mad humour. […] The theatrical qualities of the nine excellent dancers are fully used."
NRC Handelsblad about The missing door, The lost room and The hidden floor 18.10.2017 (in Dutch)

"The typical mix of magic, effects, slapstick and contortion is bombastic; the suspense is perfect. The entire piece is still worthy of the comparison with the surrealistic TV series Twin Peaks." **** (4 stars)
De Volkskrant about The missing door, The lost room and The hidden floor 11.10.2017 (in Dutch)

"These dancers delivered an incredible performance. With their bodies, they challenge the rules of dance and the laws of nature. In [The hidden floor], humour, darkness and beauty coincide in superlative degree."
Cultureel Persbureau about The missing door, The lost room and The hidden floor 06.10.2017 (in Dutch)

"With The lost room (2015), Franck Chartier and his magic, realistic but surreal and absurd oppressive world, finds a wonderful connection with the Kylián tradition of NDT and therefore receives the 'Swan Most Impressive Dance Production'."
de Volkskrant on Swan for The lost room 08.10.2016 (in Dutch)

"Best plays and shows of 2015 according to NRC Handelsblad"
NRC Handelsblad on The lost room 30.12.2015 (in Dutch)

"The first highlight of the new season." ***** (5 stars)
NRC Handelsblad on The lost room 09.10.2015 (in Dutch)

"A vigorous example of surreal dance horror." **** (4 stars)
de Volkskrant on The missing door and The lost room 03.10.2015 (in Dutch)

"Dance which thoroughly shakes you up." **** (4 sterren)
Theaterkrant on The missing door and The lost room 02.10.2015 (in Dutch)

"A dazzling, extravagant experience."
Haarlems Dagblad on The missing door and The lost room 02.10.2015 (in Dutch)

ARTICLES & INTERVIEWS

"Flapping like Hitchcock's birds."
De Telegraaf on The lost room 01.10.2015 (in Dutch)

before

2015

01-03 Oct 2015 Zuiderstrandtheater The Hague (NL)
07 Oct 2015 Chassé Theater Breda Breda (NL)
09 Oct 2015 Parktheater Eindhoven Eindhoven (NL)
15-17 Oct 2015 Zuiderstrandtheater The Hague (NL)
13-15 Nov 2015 Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam Amsterdam (NL)
19 Nov 2015 Theaters Tilburg Tilburg (NL)
21 Nov 2015 Theater a/h Vrijthof Maastricht (NL)
24 Nov 2015 Theater De Maaspoort Venlo (NL)
26 Nov 2015 Rotterdamse Schouwburg Rotterdam (NL)
28-29 Nov 2015 deSingel Antwerpen (BE)

2017

05 Oct 2017 Zuiderstrandtheater Den Haag (NL)
07 Oct 2017 Zuiderstandtheater Den Haag (NL)
10 Oct 2017 Theater De Spiegel Zwolle (NL)
12 Oct 2017 De Harmonie Leeuwarden (NL)
18-19 Oct 2017 Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam (NL)

The lost room

2015 - Franck Chartier & Nederlands Dans Theater

En 2015, Franck Chartier a créé The lost room avec l'ensemble de NDTI, comme une suite à The missing door (Gabriela Carrizo, 2013). La première mondiale a eu lieu le 1 octobre 2015 à La Haye (NL). En 2017, Chartier dirigera The hidden floor, une nouvelle création avec NDTI. Les trois pièces courtes seront présentées lors d'une soirée en triptyque, intitulée Side B: Adrift.

Cette oeuvre est dans le prolongement de la pièce précédente de Gabriela Carrizo, sauf que cette fois nous sommes sur un navire en mer, un espace qui allie liberté et détention. Dans un labyrinthe de chambres et de couloirs, The lost room dévoile plusieurs histoires en même temps. Les personnages y semblent exister en tout temps et en tout lieu, à la fois intemporels, infinis et sans limites ; une nostalgie mélancolique du futur. Plutôt qu'une représentation littérale du passé, les souvenirs sont souvent truffés d'erreurs et sensibles à la distorsion. Si l'on pense parfois pouvoir se remémorer parfaitement quelque chose, le passé est souvent interprété à la lumière du présent et même du futur que l'on espère. La pièce se concentre sur l'idée que des événements présents et futurs sont susceptibles d'influencer le passé, nos souvenirs et notre propre capacité à nous remémorer.

The lost room et The missing door ont été présentées en 2015 aux Pays-Bas et en Belgique dans le cadre du programme "Start Again" avec aussi Stop-Motion de Paul Lightfoot et Sol Leon. La première belge a eu lieu le 28 novembre 2015 à deSingel (Anvers). En 2017, les trois pièces seront présentées lors d'une nouvelle soirée intitulée Side B: Adrift. La première mondiale aura lieu le 5 octobre 2017 et sera suivie d'une tournée à travers les Pays-Bas.

The lost room a remporté le prix Zwaan (Cygne) spectacle de danse le plus impressionnant de 2016 lors du Festival Journées de la Danse Néerlandaise à Maastricht.

Le jury a déclaré : "Avec The Lost Room Franck Chartier crée une oeuvre au réalisme magique, oppressif, surréaliste et absurde qui ouvre un nouveau monde pour NDT et son public. Chartier fait usage d'effets spéciaux, ajoute du suspense et un humour (macabre) qui nous bouleversent avec un duo fragile sublime et renversant."

Concept & mise en scène Franck Chartier
Assistant to the director Yi-Chun Liu, Louis-Clément da Costa, Ander Zabala (NDT)
Cocréation avec les danseurs Lydia Bustinduy, Fernando Hernando Magadan / Spencer Dickhaus, Bob Verbrugge / Jef Stevens, Roger Van der Poel, Ema Yuasa / Rena Narumi, Cesar Faria Fernandes, Chloe Albaret, Myrthe van Opstal, Meng-Ke Wu, Marne van Opstal, Anna Herrmann, Anne Jung
Musique Compositions de Raphaëlle Latini, Ismaël Colombani, Enregistrement piano John Elliot Gardner
Conception des lumières Tom Visser
Conception des décors Justine Bougerol
Costumes Yi-Chun Liu
Première mondiale 1 octobre 2015, Zuiderstrandtheater (La Haye, NL)
Production Nederlands Dans Theater

CRITIQUES

"Tous les ingrédients connus des deux fondateurs du célèbre collectif belge Peeping Tom sont à nouveau présents : danse, acrobatie, illusionnisme, suspense cinématographique. Et humour fou. […] Les qualités théâtrales des neuf excellents danseurs sont pleinement utilisées."
NRC Handelsblad sur The missing door, The lost room et The hidden floor 18.10.2017

"Le mélange typique de magie, des effets, du slapstick et contorsion est pompeux ; le suspense est parfait. La pièce entière est digne de la comparaison avec la série télévisée surréaliste Twin Peaks." **** (4 étoiles)
De Volkskrant sur The missing door, The lost room et The hidden floor 11.10.2017

"Ces danseurs ont livré une performance incroyable. Avec leurs corps, ils défient les règles de la danse et les lois de la nature. Dans [The hidden floor], l’humour, l’obscurité et la beauté coïncident à un degré superlatif."
Cultureel Persbureau sur The missing door, The lost room et The hidden floor 06.10.2017

"Avec son univers oppressif, absurde, réaliste, magique et surréaliste, The lost room de Franck Chartier (2015) se combine formidablement avec la tradition Kylián du NDT et reçoit le Zwaan (Cygne) du Spectacle de danse le plus impressionnant".
de Volkskrant sur Cygne pour The lost room 08.10.2016 (en néerlandais)

"Les meilleurs spectacles 2015 selon la rédaction de NRC Handelsblad"
NRC Handelsblad sur The lost room 30.12.2015 (en néerlandais)

"Le premier sommet de la saison." ***** (5 étoiles)
NRC Handelsblad sur The lost room 09.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

"Une démonstration puissante de danse effroyable et surréaliste." **** (4 étoiles)
de Volkskrant sur The missing door et The lost room 03.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

"Une chorégraphie renversante." **** (4 étoiles)
Theaterkrant sur The missing door et The lost room 02.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

"La mise en scène très juste et très angoissante des relations et des événements vous rendront aussi accros qu’une série Netflix."
Cultureel Persbureau sur The missing door et The lost room 02.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

"Une expérience merveilleuse et extraordinaire."
Haarlems Dagblad sur The missing door et The lost room 02.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

ARTICLES & ENTRETIENS

"Voltiger comme les oiseaux de Hitchcock."
De Telegraaf sur The lost room 01.10.2015 (en néerlandais)

passé

2015

01-03 Oct 2015 Zuiderstrandtheater The Hague (NL)
07 Oct 2015 Chassé Theater Breda Breda (NL)
09 Oct 2015 Parktheater Eindhoven Eindhoven (NL)
15-17 Oct 2015 Zuiderstrandtheater The Hague (NL)
13-15 Nov 2015 Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam Amsterdam (NL)
19 Nov 2015 Theaters Tilburg Tilburg (NL)
21 Nov 2015 Theater a/h Vrijthof Maastricht (NL)
24 Nov 2015 Theater De Maaspoort Venlo (NL)
26 Nov 2015 Rotterdamse Schouwburg Rotterdam (NL)
28-29 Nov 2015 deSingel Antwerpen (BE)

2017

05 Oct 2017 Zuiderstrandtheater Den Haag (NL)
07 Oct 2017 Zuiderstandtheater Den Haag (NL)
10 Oct 2017 Theater De Spiegel Zwolle (NL)
12 Oct 2017 De Harmonie Leeuwarden (NL)
18-19 Oct 2017 Stadsschouwburg Amsterdam (NL)