Kind

Kind (Child) (2019) is the third part of a family trilogy that started in 2014 with Vader – directed by Franck Chartier – followed by Moeder (Mother) (2016) by Gabriela Carrizo. For Kind (Child), they both take up the role of director. The creation period for Kind is planned between autumn 2018 and spring 2019, with the world premiere in April 2019.

The basis for Kind is the perspective of the child and children’s internal and external world. Every action is driven by how children see the world, by their fears and desires. The choreographers investigate how a child’s perspective changes as it grows and develops itself on its way to adolescence and adulthood, with all the associated choices, pressures, fears, doubts and physical changes, and how this translates into gestures and body language.

At the same time, Carrizo and Chartier look at how children express fears due to a lack of (parental) framework to hold on to. What happens in traumatic situations, in which the perceptions of the body are seemingly anaesthetized? How do children handle their quest for truth? And how do they organize their world through fantasy, role playing or imitations, to master certain situations or dynamics? The shifts and transformations in space and time – typical of the work of Peeping Tom – will also be prominently present in Kind.

Photo: © Diane Fourdrignier

Concept and direction: Gabriela Carrizo and Franck Chartier
Creation and performance: Eurudike De Beul, Maria Carolina Vieira, Marie Gyselbrecht, Brandon Lagaert, Hun-Mok Jung, Yi-Chun Liu
Artistic assistance: Lulu Tikovsky
Sound composition and arrangements: Raphaëlle Latini, Peeping Tom
Light design: Amber Vandenhoeck
Costume design: Peeping Tom
Set design: Justine Bougerol, Peeping Tom
Construction set: KVS-atelier, Peeping Tom
Technical direction: Filip Timmerman
Production: Peeping Tom
Co-production: Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen), Taipei Performing Arts Center (Taipei), KVS - Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg (Brussels), Teatre Nacional de Catalunya/Grec Festival de Barcelona, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, deSingel (Antwerp), Maison de la Culture de Bourges, Festival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri (Reggio Emilia), La Rose des Vents (Villeneuve d'Ascq)
Sales: Frans Brood Productions

2019

23-24 Apr 2019 Les Théâtres de la ville de Luxembourg Luxembourg (LU)
02-03 May 2019 Maison de la Culture de Bourges Bourges (FR)
11 May 2019 Teatre Principal Palma de Mallorca (ES)
17-18 May 2019 Teatro Central Sevilla (ES)
22-24 May 2019 La Rose des Vents Villeneuve d'Ascq (FR)
12-14 Jun 2019 ThéâtredelaCité Toulouse (FR)
05-07 Jul 2019 Schauspiel Köln Cologne (DE)
11-12 Jul 2019 Teatre Nacional de Catalunya Barcelona (ES)

Kind

Kind (Enfant) (2019) est le troisième volet d’une trilogie familiale qui a débuté en 2014 avec Vader (Père), dirigé par Franck Chartier, suivi par Moeder (Mère) (2016) de Gabriela Carrizo. Pour Kind (Enfant), ils reprennent ensemble la direction artistique. La période de création de Kind est pressentie entre l'automne 2018 et le printemps 2019, avec une première mondiale prévue au mois d'avril 2019.

Le point de vue de l’enfant et le zoom sur le monde intérieur et extérieur des enfants constituent la base de Kind. Les actions sont guidées par la façon dont les enfants perçoivent le monde, par leurs peurs et leurs désirs. Les chorégraphes étudient comment le point de vue d’un enfant change en grandissant et se développant vers l’adolescence et l’âge adulte, avec tous les choix, pressions, peurs, doutes et changements physiques associés ; comment cela se traduit en gestes et en langage corporel.

Carrizo et Chartier étudient en même-temps comment les enfants expriment des craintes liées au manque de structure à laquelle se retenir, par exemple quand les parents sont absents. Que se passe-t’il dans des situations traumatiques, dans lesquelles les perceptions du corps sont apparemment anesthésiées ? Et comment organisent-ils leur monde par la fantaisie, le jeu de rôle ou les imitations, pour maîtriser certaines situations ou dynamiques ? Les changements et transformations dans l’espace et le temps – typiques du travail de Peeping Tom – seront de nouveau présents dans Kind.

Photo: © Diane Fourdrignier

Concept et mise en scène: Gabriela Carrizo et Franck Chartier
Création & interprétation: Eurudike De Beul, Maria Carolina Vieira, Marie Gyselbrecht, Brandon Lagaert, Hun-Mok Jung, Yi-Chun Liu
Assistance artistique: Lulu Tikovsky
Composition sonore et arrangements: Raphaëlle Latini, Peeping Tom
Conception lumières: Amber Vandenhoeck
Costumes: Peeping Tom, Nina Lopez Le Galliard (Intern)
Conception décors: Justine Bougerol, Peeping Tom
Construction décors: KVS-atelier, Peeping Tom
Direction technique: Filip Timmerman

Production: Peeping Tom
Partenaires de production: KVS - Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg (Bruxelles), Teatre Nacional de Catalunya/Grec Festival de Barcelona, Theater im Pfalzbau (Ludwigshafen)
Co-production: Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, deSingel (Anvers), Maison de la Culture de Bourges, Festival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri (Reggio Emilia), La Rose des Vents (Villeneuve d'Ascq); Théâtre de Caen, Théâtre de la Ville (Paris)

Diffusion: Frans Brood Productions
Kind est réalisé avec le soutien du Tax Shelter du Gouvernement fédéral belge

2019

23-24 Avr 2019 Les Théâtres de la ville de Luxembourg Luxembourg (LU)
02-03 Mai 2019 Maison de la Culture de Bourges Bourges (FR)
11 Mai 2019 Teatre Principal Palma de Mallorca (ES)
17-18 Mai 2019 Teatro Central Sevilla (ES)
22-24 Mai 2019 La Rose des Vents Villeneuve d'Ascq (FR)
12-14 Jun 2019 ThéâtredelaCité Toulouse (FR)
05-07 Jul 2019 Schauspiel Köln Cologne (DE)
11-12 Jul 2019 Teatre Nacional de Catalunya Barcelona (ES)