Third Act

Third Act is a film by Belgian documentary filmmakers Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops about ageing, about caring and being cared for. The story is told from the perspective of ageing actors and local senior citizens, performing with Peeping Tom. Life is a stage, but what happens when the curtain is about to fall?

This documentary follows the culturally eclectic theatrical family on tour around the world with the trilogy Vader, Moeder and Kind. The theme of this trilogy, ageing and family, touches everybody's lives, including those of the actors themselves. In the film sublimated theatrical stories are woven together with sensitive personal contributions.

At each stop on the international tour, Peeping Tom works with local senior citizens as extras. These extras have been sought out beforehand and receive a crash-course in acting before they step onto the stage, often for the first time in their lives. Their personal lives provide an insight into ageing in their countries and create a dialogue with what Peeping Tom presents on stage.

Third Act was created as a coproduction with Peeping Tom. The cinematic approach and the characteristic visuals of Peeping Tom permeate through the documentary. The world premiere took place on 31 March 2019 during Docville in Leuven (BE). The film will be released on 1 May in Belgian cinemas.

Directors: Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops
Director of Photography: Johan Legraie, Julien Lambert
Sound: Jeanne Debarsy, Cosmas Antoniadis
Film editing: Dieter Diependaele
Production: Savage Film / Bart Van Langendonck, Vincent Metzinger
Coproduction: Peeping Tom, Iota Productions, CANVAS
Partners: Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds, Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union, Centre du Cinéma et de l’Audiovisuel de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

2019

27 Apr 2019 Cinema ZED Leuven (BE)
27 Apr 2019 Stadhuis (Ros Beiaardzaal) Dendermonde (BE)
30 Sep 2019 Cinema Massimo Torino (IT)

before

2019

31 Mar 2019 Docville Leuven (BE)

Third Act

Third Act est un film documentaire réalisé par Mieke Struyve et Lotte Stoops sur le vieillissement, sur l’accompagnement, sur le soignant et le soigné. Le film est raconté depuis la perspective d’acteurs âgés et de seniors, citoyens locaux de chaque ville où la compagnie s’est arrêtée, et qui sont montés sur scène avec Peeping Tom. La vie est une mise en scène, mais que se passe-t-il lorsque le rideau est sur le point de tomber ?

Le documentaire suit cette famille théâtrale multiculturelle qu’est Peeping Tom, en tournée dans le monde entier, avec la trilogie de Vader (Père), Moeder (Mère) et Kind (Enfant). Les thèmes de cette trilogie, le vieillissement et la famille, touchent la vie de tout un chacun, y compris certains des acteurs sur scène. Dans Third Act, les récits théâtraux sont tissés à des fragments documentaires intimes et sensibles.

À chaque étape de leur tournée internationale, Peeping Tom travaille avec des personnes âgées vivant sur place. Ces figurants, trouvés en amont, reçoivent un cours de théâtre intensif avant de monter sur scène souvent pour la première fois de leur vie. Une plongée dans leur vie personnelle offre un aperçu du vieillissement dans leur pays et crée un dialogue avec les œuvres scéniques de Peeping Tom.

Third Act a été réalisé en coproduction avec Peeping Tom. L’approche cinématographique ainsi que l’imaginaire caractéristique de Peeping Tom imprègnent cette création documentaire. La première mondiale de Third Act a eu lieu le 31 mars, dans le cadre de Docville – International Documentary Festival de Louvain (BE). Le film sera diffusé dans les cinémas belges à partir du 1 mai.

Réalisation : Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops
Directeur de la Photographie : Johan Legraie, Julien Lambert
Son : Jeanne Debarsy, Cosmas Antoniadis
Montage : Dieter Diependaele
Production : Savage Film / Bart Van Langendonck, Vincent Metzinger
Coproduction : Peeping Tom, Iota Productions, CANVAS
Partenaires : Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds, Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union, Centre du Cinéma et de l’Audiovisuel de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles.

2019

30 Sep 2019 Cinema Massimo Torino (IT)

passé

2019

31 Mar 2019 Docville Leuven (BE)
27 Avr 2019 Cinema ZED Leuven (BE)
27 Avr 2019 Stadhuis (Ros Beiaardzaal) Dendermonde (BE)