© Rahi Rezvani

The hidden floor 2017 / Collaboration

The hidden floor is a creation by Franck Chartier with the dancers of NDTI. With this short piece, they are completing the triptych that started with The missing door (Gabriela Carrizo, 2013) followed by The lost room (Franck Chartier, 2015).

The piece addresses some of the themes that were already present in the previous two productions: the memory, the disruption of time. The characters find themselves in a public space, maybe a restaurant, taken over by nature. They are experiencing their final moments as the water slowly starts to rise. Holding on to their last hope, they try to survive and find a way out, not only physically but also mentally.

The hidden floor premiered on October 5th, 2017 in the Zuiderstrandtheater in The Hague (NL) as part of the triple bill programme entitled Side B: Adrift, which also included The missing door and The lost room.

Tour Dates

October 2017
05Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
07Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
10ZwolleTheater De Spiegel
18AmsterdamInternationaal Theater Amsterdam
19AmsterdamInternationaal Theater Amsterdam
December 2017
09HeerlenParkstad Limburg Theaters
19Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
20Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
21Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater

Concept and direction
Franck Chartier

Assistant to the director
Louis-Clément da Costa, Ander Zabala

In co-creation with the dancers
Lydia Bustinduy, Spencer Dickhaus, Jef Stevens, Roger Van der Poel, Rena Narumi, Cesar Faria Fernandes, Chloe Albaret, Meng-Ke Wu, Marne van Opstal

Sound design & arrangements
Raphaëlle Latini, Annalena Fröhlich, Louis-Clément da Costa

Light design
Tom Visser

Set design
Justine Bougerol

Costumes
Franck Chartier, Louis-Clément da Costa

Choreologue Benesh
Charlotte Siepiora

Production
Nederlands Dans Theater

Press

"The power of each piece of the trilogy lies in the permanent unpredictability of events. […] The moments of surprise arise primarily from dance - from a seductive as well as compelling movement language that describes an overwhelmingly heightened atmosphere of psychic primal fears.”
Tanz  28/11/2017
"The famous ingredients of the two founders of the successful Belgian collective Peeping Tom are again present: dance, acrobatics, illusionism, cinematic suspense. And mad humour. […] The theatrical qualities of the nine excellent dancers are fully used."
NRC Handelsblad  18/10/2017
"The typical mix of magic, effects, slapstick and contortion is bombastic; the suspense is perfect. The entire piece is still worthy of the comparison with the surrealistic TV series Twin Peaks." **** (4 stars)
De Volkskrant  11/10/2017
> More press

Awards and nominations

2018 Nominated for a ‘Swan most impressive dance production’. The lost room had already won this award in 2016. The Netherlands’ most prestigious dance award, the Zwanen (Swans), are awarded each year in October during the Festival of the Dutch Dance in Maastricht.

© Rahi Rezvani

The hidden floor 2017 / Collaboration

The hidden floor est une création de Franck Chartier avec l’ensemble de NDTI. La pièce courte est une suite à The missing door (Gabriela Carrizo, 2013) et The lost room (Franck Chartier, 2015).

Cette création courte poursuit l’exploration de thèmes adressés dans les deux volets précédents : la mémoire, le jeu avec une ligne de temps rompue. Les personnages se retrouvent dans un espace public, un restaurant, repris par la nature. Ils vivent leurs derniers moments alors que l’eau monte lentement. Attachés à leurs derniers espoirs, ils tentent de survivre et de s’échapper, physiquement et mentalement.

La première mondiale de The hidden floor a eu lieu le 5 octobre 2017 au Zuiderstrandtheater à La Haye (NL), dans le cadre de la soirée composée Side B: Adrift, avec également The missing door et The lost room.

Dates tournée

Octobre 2017
05Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
07Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
10ZwolleTheater De Spiegel
18AmsterdamInternationaal Theater Amsterdam
19AmsterdamInternationaal Theater Amsterdam
Décembre 2017
09HeerlenParkstad Limburg Theaters
19Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
20Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater
21Den HaagZuiderstrandtheater

Concept et mise en scène
Franck Chartier

Assistant to the director
Louis-Clément da Costa, Ander Zabala

Cocréation avec les danseurs
Lydia Bustinduy, Spencer Dickhaus, Jef Stevens, Roger Van der Poel, Rena Narumi, Cesar Faria Fernandes, Chloe Albaret, Meng-Ke Wu, Marne van Opstal

Composition sonore & arrangements
Raphaëlle Latini, Annalena Fröhlich, Louis-Clément da Costa

Conception des lumières
Tom Visser

Conception des décors
Justine Bougerol

Costumes
Franck Chartier, Louis-Clément da Costa

Choreologue Benesh
Charlotte Siepiora

Production
Nederlands Dans Theater

Presse

"La force de chaque partie de la trilogie se trouve dans l’imprévisibilité permanente des événements. […] Les moments de surprise proviennent principalement de la danse – d’un langage de mouvement séduisant et irrésistible qui décrit une atmosphère extraordinairement accentuée de peurs psychiques primaires."
Tanz  28/11/2017
"Tous les ingrédients connus des deux fondateurs du célèbre collectif belge Peeping Tom sont à nouveau présents : danse, acrobatie, illusionnisme, suspense cinématographique. Et humour fou. […] Les qualités théâtrales des neuf excellents danseurs sont pleinement utilisées."
NRC Handelsblad  18/10/2017
"Le mélange typique de magie, des effets, du slapstick et contorsion est pompeux ; le suspense est parfait. La pièce entière est digne de la comparaison avec la série télévisée surréaliste Twin Peaks." **** (4 étoiles)
De Volkskrant  11/10/2017
> Plus de presse

Prix et nominations

2018 Nominé pour un Zwaan du ‘spectacle de danse le plus impressionnant’. The lost room avait déjà remporté ce prix en 2016. Les ‘Zwanen’ (Cygnes) représentent le prix le plus prestigieux pour la danse aux Pays-Bas et sont décernés chaque année dans le cadre du Festival Nederlandse Dansdagen à Maastricht.