Third Act 2019 / Film

Third Act is a film by Belgian documentary filmmakers Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops about ageing, about caring and being cared for. The story is told from the perspective of ageing actors and local senior citizens, performing with Peeping Tom. Life is a stage, but what happens when the curtain is about to fall?

This documentary follows the culturally eclectic theatrical family on tour around the world with the trilogy Vader, Moeder, Kind. The theme of this trilogy, ageing and family, touches everybody’s lives, including those of the actors themselves. In the film sublimated theatrical stories are woven together with sensitive personal contributions.

At each stop on the international tour, Peeping Tom works with local senior citizens as extras. These extras have been sought out beforehand and receive a crash-course in acting before they step onto the stage, often for the first time in their lives. Their personal lives provide an insight into ageing in their countries and create a dialogue with what Peeping Tom presents on stage.

Third Act was created as a coproduction with Peeping Tom. The cinematic approach and the characteristic visuals of Peeping Tom permeate through the documentary. The world premiere took place on 31 March 2019 during Docville in Leuven (BE).

Screenings

March 2019
31LeuvenDocville
April 2019
27LeuvenCinema ZED
July 2019
03AmsterdamJulidans
04AmsterdamJulidans
05AmsterdamJulidans
06AmsterdamJulidans
07AmsterdamJulidans
September 2019
30TorinoCinema Massimo
December 2020
10BrusselsKVS - Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg

Directors
Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops

Director of Photography
Johan Legraie, Julien Lambert

Sound
Jeanne Debarsy, Cosmas Antoniadis

Film editing
Dieter Diependaele

Production
Savage Film / Bart Van Langendonck, Vincent Metzinger

Coproduction
Peeping Tom, Iota Productions, CANVAS

Partners
Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds, Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union, Centre du Cinéma et de l’Audiovisuel de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles

Third Act 2019 / Film

Third Act est un film documentaire réalisé par Mieke Struyve et Lotte Stoops sur le vieillissement, sur l’accompagnement, sur le soignant et le soigné. Le film est raconté depuis la perspective d’acteurs âgés et de seniors, citoyens locaux de chaque ville où la compagnie s’est arrêtée, et qui sont montés sur scène avec Peeping Tom. La vie est une mise en scène, mais que se passe-t-il lorsque le rideau est sur le point de tomber ?

Le documentaire suit cette famille théâtrale multiculturelle qu’est Peeping Tom, en tournée dans le monde entier, avec la trilogie de Vader, Moeder, Kind. Les thèmes de cette trilogie, le vieillissement et la famille, touchent la vie de tout un chacun, y compris certains des acteurs sur scène. Dans Third Act, les récits théâtraux sont tissés à des fragments documentaires intimes et sensibles.

À chaque étape de leur tournée internationale, Peeping Tom travaille avec des personnes âgées vivant sur place. Ces figurants, trouvés en amont, reçoivent un cours de théâtre intensif avant de monter sur scène souvent pour la première fois de leur vie. Une plongée dans leur vie personnelle offre un aperçu du vieillissement dans leur pays et crée un dialogue avec les œuvres scéniques de Peeping Tom.

Third Act a été réalisé en coproduction avec Peeping Tom. L’approche cinématographique ainsi que l’imaginaire caractéristique de Peeping Tom imprègnent cette création documentaire. La première mondiale de Third Acta eu lieu le 31 mars, dans le cadre de Docville – International Documentary Festival de Louvain (BE).

Séances

Mars 2019
31LeuvenDocville
Avril 2019
27LeuvenCinema ZED
Juillet 2019
03AmsterdamJulidans
04AmsterdamJulidans
05AmsterdamJulidans
06AmsterdamJulidans
07AmsterdamJulidans
Septembre 2019
30TurinCinema Massimo
Décembre 2020
10BruxellesKVS - Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg

Réalisation
Mieke Struyve and Lotte Stoops

Directeur de la Photographie
Johan Legraie, Julien Lambert

Son
Jeanne Debarsy, Cosmas Antoniadis

Montage
Dieter Diependaele

Production
Savage Film / Bart Van Langendonck, Vincent Metzinger

Coproduction
Peeping Tom, Iota Productions, CANVAS

Partenaires
Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds, Creative Europe Programme – MEDIA of the European Union, Centre du Cinéma et de l’Audiovisuel de la Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles