Dido & Aeneas 2021 / Collaboration

Dido & Aeneas (2021) is Peeping Tom’s first opera. Written by English composer Henry Purcell in around 1688, Dido & Aeneas will unite Peeping Tom’s performers and their unique theatrical language with the world of the opera. The piece, directed by Franck Chartier, is created in collaboration with Emmanuelle Haïm’s Le Concert d’Astrée for the Grand Théâtre de Genève and will premiere on 2 May 2021 in Geneva.

Dido & Æneas was written to be performed in an orphanage for girls by the girls themselves (at least a part of them and a part of the work). Is this the reason why Æneas, even if he features in the title of the opera, only shows up relatively late and actually sings very little before disappearing and leaving the women in their former state of solitude and ennui. From the very beginning, Dido’s grief contains inexhaustible depths and we know that all this won’t end well as we dive into Dido’s psychological abyss.

In the theatrical world of Peeping Tom, relationships between the beings who inhabit the stage are the starting-point of endless explorations inside bodies and minds. As they zoom in and out, we embark on a journey from microscopic impressions to macroscopic feelings as huge as… the most grossly misshapen of superlative realities. This world of psyche and emotion, with rules that are both strict and organic, will be asked to stage an opera for the first time in the collective’s history. Fortunately, there’s all the space they need on the Grand Théâtre stage, so no fear that they might get stuck.

And no fear they should creak either! Since Emmanuelle Haïm herself is officiating as mistress of ceremonies at the head of the ensemble with which she has long been exploring the music of Henry Purcell. Le Concert d’Astrée will themselves be busy with some improvisational pyrotechnics, shifting from one reality on the stage to another, from authentic musical textures to magnificent chromatics inspired by Dido’s famous final lament “When I am laid in earth” from the only opera the British Orpheus ever composed. This is Dido like you have never seen or heard it before.

Tour Dates

May 2021
02GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève
04GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève
06GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève
08GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève
09GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève
11GenevaGrand Théâtre de Genève

Stage Director and Choreographer
Franck Chartier

Musical Director
Emmanuelle Haïm

Scenographer
Justine Bougerol

Costume designer
Anne-Catherine Kunz, Marie Messian (Make-up research Brussels)

Lighting Designer
Giacomo Gorini

Sound
Atushi Sakaï (Additional musical composition), Raphaëlle Latini (Sound designer), Hjorvar Rognvaldsson (Sound engineer), Elias Vervecken (Foley)

Props
Nina Lopez Le Galliard

Technical master
Filip Timmerman

Dramaturgy
Clara Pons

Artistic collaborator
Eurudike De Beul

Assistant to the Director
Lulu Tikovsky

Choreography Assistant
Samuel Lefeuvre

 

Dido/Sorceress
Marie-Claude Chappuis

Aeneas
Jarrett Ott

Belinda
Emöke Baráth

2nd Woman / 1st Witch
Marie Lys

Creation and performance by the artists of Peeping Tom
Eurudike De Beul, Leo De Beul, Liwei Fu, Marie Gyselbrecht, Hunmok Jung, Brandon Lagaert, Weiwei Lee, Yichun Liu, Romeu Runa

With the orchestra and choir of the Concert d’Astrée

 

Production
Grand Théâtre de Genève

Co-production
Opéra de Lille, Les Théâtres de la Ville du Luxembourg, Théâtre de Caen

© Carole Parodi

Dido & Aeneas 2021 / Collaboration

A cause des mesures actuelles, les performance de Didon & Enee avec un public ont été annulés, mais vous pouvez regarder l’opéra de chez vous, le lundi 3 mai à 20:00 CEST sur mezzo.tv et sur la chaîne digitale du Grand Théâtre de Genève.

Didon & Enée (2021) est le premier opéra de Peeping Tom. Créé par le compositeur anglais Henry Purcell vers 1688, Didon & Enée réunit les artistes de Peeping Tom avec leur langage théâtral unique au monde de l’opéra. La pièce, mise en scène par Franck Chartier, est créée en collaboration avec Le Concert d’Astrée d’Emmanuelle Haïm pour le Grand Théâtre de Genève et sera présentée le 2 mai 2021 à Genève.

Didon & Énée fut créé dans un orphelinat de jeunes filles, par des jeunes filles (en tout cas une partie des jeunes filles et de l’œuvre). Est-ce pour cette raison qu’Énée, bien que figurant dans le titre de l’œuvre, n’y apparaît que plutôt tardivement et n’y chante que très peu avant de disparaître et de laisser à nouveau les femmes dans leur solitude et spleen initial ? Car depuis le début la tristesse de Didon renferme des profondeurs inépuisables et on sait que tout ça va mal se terminer. Plongeon vertigineux dans la psyché de Didon.

Dans l’univers de Peeping Tom, les relations entre les êtres qui habitent le plateau sont l’excuse d’autant de voyages à l’intérieur des corps et de l’esprit. Zooms et dézooms nous emmènent d’un monde des impressions microscopiques à celui macroscopique de sentiments grands comme… comme la plus difforme des réalités superlatives. Ce monde psychique et émotif, aux règles à la fois strictes et organiques, sera amené, pour la première fois dans le parcours du collectif, à rentrer dans le cadre de la scène de l’opéra. Heureusement, au Grand Théâtre de Genève, le cadre est assez large, pas de crainte que ça ne coince.

Et pas plus que ça ne grince ! Surtout qu’Emmanuelle Haïm est la cheffe de cérémonie à la tête de l’ensemble avec lequel elle a parcouru déjà en long et en large les sentiers de la musique de Purcell. Le Concert d’Astrée lui-même se prêtera à quelques exercices périlleux d’improvisation musicale évoluant d’une réalité à l’autre de la scène, d’une texture musicale puriste aux chromatismes inspirés entre autres du fameux air final When I am laid in earth de l’unique opéra que l’Orphée anglais composa jamais. Didon comme vous ne l’avez jamais vu ni entendu.

Dates tournée

Mai 2021
0320:00GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Première en ligne)
04GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Annulé )
06GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Annulé)
08GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Annulé)
09GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Annulé)
11GenèveGrand Théâtre de Genève (Annulé )

Mise en scène et chorégraphie
Franck Chartier

Direction musicale
Emmanuelle Haïm

Scénographie
Justine Bougerol

Costumes
Anne-Catherine Kunz, Marie Messian (Recherches maquillage Bruxelles), Chiara Mazzarolo (stage)

Lumières
Giacomo Gorini

Son
Atushi Sakaï (Composition musicale additionnelle), Raphaëlle Latini (Conception sonore), Hjorvar Rognvaldsson (Ingénieur de son), Elias Vervecken (Foley)

Accessoires
Nina Lopez Le Galliard, Clément Michaux (stage), Jerôme Lamoureux (stage)

Technical master
Filip Timmerman, Sam Vandenhoeck (stage)

Dramaturgie
Clara Pons

Collaboratrice artistique
Eurudike De Beul

Assistante à la mise en scène
Lulu Tikovsky

Assistant chorégraphie
Samuel Lefeuvre, Louis Clément da Costa

 

Dido/Sorceress
Marie-Claude Chappuis

Aeneas/Marin
Jarrett Ott

Belinda
Emöke Baráth

2nd Woman / 1st Witch
Marie Lys

Création et performance par les artistes de Peeping Tom
Eurudike De Beul, Leo De Beul, Marie Gyselbrecht, Hunmok Jung, Brandon Lagaert, Chen-Wei Lee, Yichun Liu, Romeu Runa

Avec l’Orchestre et Choeur du Concert d’Astrée

 

Production
Grand Théâtre de Genève

Coproduction
Opéra de Lille, Les Théâtres de la Ville du Luxembourg