© Oleg Degtiarov, Peeping Tom

La Visita (Working Title) 2021 / Collaboration

The site-specific project La Visita (working title) will bring Peeping Tom’s theatricality, disruption and surrealism into the new world of art galleries. Through Peeping Tom’s own characters, the artworks and the museum’s characters, the audience will be taken into a parallel mental world, portraying what usually remains hidden.

For a long time, museums and art galleries have found their way into the work of Peeping Tom. In Moeder, the performance was set in a space that at once was maternity ward, funeral home, sound booth and art gallery – as if life was exposed for everyone to see.

For the Collezione Maramotti, Gabriela Carrizo will move in the opposite direction, bringing Peeping Tom’s theatricality into the actual art collection. The museum, a symbol of stability in time, is confronted here with the temporary and the volatile. Gabriela Carrizo will also work on the viewing, how we look at art and which effect art works can have on us. The spectator is challenged and confronted with himself, asking what is real, what is created, what is art and what is present in his own mind.

La Visita (working title) is currently shortlisted for the FEDORA Prize for Ballet 2021. Vote now and support our youngest project! 

Direction
Gabriela Carrizo

Sound design
Raphaëlle Latini

Light design
Amber Vandenhoeck

Production
Fondazione I Teatri (Reggio Emilia)

Co-production
Peeping Tom, Collezione Maramotti (Reggio Emilia), KMSKA – Koninklijk Museum Voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, Nexo Digital

© Oleg Degtiarov, Peeping Tom

La Visita 2021 / Collaboration

Le projet in-situ La Visita transposera le côté dérangeant et surréaliste ainsi que toute la théâtralité de l’univers de Peeping Tom dans le monde des galeries d’art. À travers les personnages de Peeping Tom, les œuvres d’art et les protagonistes du musée, le public sera emmené dans un monde mental parallèle, représentant ce qui, généralement, demeure caché.

Depuis longtemps, musées et galeries d’art trouvent leur place dans le travail de Peeping Tom. Dans Moeder, la pièce se déroulait dans un espace représentant à la fois une maternité, un funérarium, un studio d’enregistrement et une galerie d’art – comme si la vie était exposée à la vue de tous.

Pour la Collezione Maramotti, Gabriela Carrizo empruntera le chemin opposé, en introduisant la théâtralité de Peeping Tom dans leur collection d’art. Le musée, symbole de stabilité dans le temps, est alors confronté au temporaire et à l’imprévisible. Gabriela Carrizo travaillera également sur la manière dont nous regardons l’art et sur l’effet que les œuvres d’art peuvent avoir sur nous. Le spectateur est interpellé et confronté à lui-même, se demandant ce qui est réel, ce qui est créé, ce qui est art et ce qui  émane de son propre esprit.

Dates tournée

Novembre 2021
04Reggio EmiliaFestival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri
05Reggio EmiliaFestival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri
06Reggio EmiliaFestival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri
07Reggio EmiliaFestival Aperto/Fondazione I Teatri

Concept et mise en scène
Gabriela Carrizo

Création et interprétation
Charlotte Clamens, Marie Gyselbrecht, Brandon Lagaert, Yichun Liu

Composition sonore
Raphaëlle Latini, Mees Vervuurt (stage)

Scenographie
Amber Vandenhoeck

Production
Fondazione I Teatri (Reggio Emilia)

Co-production
Peeping Tom, Collezione Maramotti (Reggio Emilia), KMSKA – Koninklijk Museum Voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, Nexo Digital

Prix et nominations

2021 Gagnant FEDORA – VAN CLEEF & ARPELS Prize for Ballet 2021